Home » Tools, Tips and, Tricks » Card Making Basics…

Card Making Basics…

This is just a quick post to give you some basic background information about making a card. For some people this is old news however, I have some long distance friends that have never made a card or stamped an image in their life and so this is all new to them. I don’t want anyone to feel stupid for asking questions and I want everyone to be able to do what I do.

I will start off with a simple lesson in ruler reading because when I first started I struggled with this. I felt very dumb for having to ask, so I am posting it here so you don’t have to ask.

Ruler

Each line on your ruler is an increment.

An increment of what depends on your ruler.

Count from the first line until you get to 1″ if you count 16 then it is increments of 1/16th” if you counted 8 then it is 1/8th” increments.

Hopefully this helps, if it still confuses you please please please Email Me your questions…I promise there are no stupid questions.

Next we will talk about card size, yes size matters. You can have the best design in the world but if the layers are not in proportion the card can look “off”

I will talk about my basic card size which is 4 1/4″ X 5″.

100_0900100_0901This is half of an 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of card stock.

Start with the 8 1/2″ X 11″ piece of card stock cut it in half on the 11″ side.

you end up with two pieces that measure 8 1/2″ X 5 1/2″.

Now you will fold one piece in half on the 8 1/2″ side.

What you end up with is a card that measures 4 1/4th” X 5 1/5″ on the folded side.

To add standard layers just decrease your layer size by 1/4th” to 1/2″

This leaves a border of the underlying piece around your layer.

I hope this helps you get started.

Email Me with questions and your creations, I will start a Gallery for all my stamping friends!

Leave a Reply

