Home » Tools, Tips and, Tricks » Vellum…

Vellum…

What is it, what can you do with it?

Vellum is a translucent usually heavy weight paper that can become an overly or manipulated with tools to create a beautiful picture.

Dry embossing vellum produces a white image.

I was first introduced to vellum art also known as Pergamano about 20 years ago and fell in love!

From my research Pergamano originated in Holland. There are various ways to produce a beautiful piece of art.

From using color, dry embossing to paper piercing.

I recently was reminded of this technique while doing one of my many Google searches.

I wanted to combine the art of Pergamano with my Stampin’ Up!

This is my first real attempt:

Vellum flowerI used paper piercing tools for the pierced outline.

I stamped the image with pigment ink and heat embossed it.

all the colors are watercolor pencil and a blending medium.

The shiny is Champagne mist shimmer paint.

I also dry embossed the flowers before coloring them.

I will do a tutorial on dry embossing and piercing vellum soon.

I love vellum as a medium because of the effects I can achieve.

Please let me know what you think! Contact me!

3 thoughts on “Vellum…

  1. hola me parece realmente hermoso,yo tambien hago,aunque aqui en españa se le llama pergamano o tarjeteria española,sin duda te seguire espero que sea pronto un saludo.angela.

    Like

Leave a Reply

