Home » Challenges » A Challenge…

A Challenge…

I was recently advised to check out Mojo Monday.

This is a weekly challenge where a design team has posted a sketch and we are challenged to create something from that sketch.

This was last Monday’s sketch.

www.mojomonday.blogspot.com

Okay first thing I did was look at other samples posted.

In the process I came across some other challenges.

Theshabbytearoom.blogspot.com offers a picture for inspiration.

Photo Inspiration #166

This is what the challenge stated:

This week Starr is our creative host and she has chosen the theme of ‘Sweet Springtime’ along with this beautiful photo for inspiration and Starr asks that you create a card or project inspired by the photo USING PINK, GREEN, WHITE (or CREAM) and a SEWING ELEMENT!

Then I found:

http://www.justusgirlschallenge.blogspot.com/2013/05/just-us-girls-188.html

Their challenge is to use a white medium of some kind.

I decided to do all three as well as incorporate my own medium of the month which is vellum.

Here is what I came up with:

Mojo Monday 293 WM

Okay so I will try to dissect the card so you understand what I have done.

The stamp set is Stampin’ Up! Daydream Medallions Clear # 126467 Wood # 126465

The die cut is Floral Frame Framelits # 127012

That made the pink and green flower rings.

Next I used a 2 1/2″ punch # 120906 to punch vellum out for the back of the flower rings.

I ran the circles of vellum through the Textured Impressions Embossing Folder “Lacy Brocade” # 127819

Next I used a brayer # 102395 to add the ink to just the raised area of the vellum and attached it to the back of the flower rings.

I added a green strip of card stock and a pink strip of card stock to the card under the flowers.

The pink strip I made striped by using my Simply Scored board #122334 I scored it every 1/4 inch then brayered on white ink.

On the right side of the card I added a green strip with hand dyed ribbon pieces.

On the left I added a hand dyed ribbon bow.

For the sewing element in the one challenge I made a hand sewn ribbon rose out of white ribbon.

Everything is layered onto  Very Vanilla card stock # 101650

I had a lot of fun with this challenge and plan to keep it up.

The more challenge elements I include in one card the more difficult it becomes, which for me is half the fun.

If you know of a weekly or monthly challenge I have not listed please let me know HERE!!!

3 thoughts on “A Challenge…

Leave a Reply

